top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMike Fry

An Open Letter of Thanks to Julián Castro


I wanted to extend a heart-felt “thank you” to Secretary Castro. I would like to thank him for many things, ranging from his stances on immigration to Climate Change to women’s rights and others. What motivated me to write today, however his is recent position and recommendations on animal welfare.


As someone who has worked in the field of animal welfare for about 20 years, and who has written a fair amount about the links between animal and human issues I found Secretary Castro’s insertion of animal welfare into the political discussion to be a breath of fresh air. I know many people will see it differently. However, as a consultant who helps open-admission animal control shelters to transition to No Kill status I remain convinced that a society that treats its animals poorly is more likely to treat its people poorly, too.


Thanks again!

Comentários


bottom of page